Regulate. Educate. Advocate.

The Kansas Legislature established the Kansas Insurance Department in 1871. The first Superintendent of Insurance, later changed to Commissioner of Insurance in 1927, was William C. Webb. There have been twenty-six Commissioners to lead The Kansas Insurance Department, including current Commissioner Vicki Schmidt. The longest-serving Commissioner was Frank Sullivan, who served from 1947 to 1971.

In 2017, the Kansas Legislature enacted Senate Bill 23, which merged the Kansas Securities Commission with the Kansas Insurance Department. Prior to the 2017 Legislation, the Securities Commission was an executive branch agency that reported to the Governor. Established in 1911, Kansas became the first state to pass a law regulating the sale of investments.

According to J.N. Dolley, a driving force for the law’s passage, it was an effort to prevent the sale of securities by promoters who promised rain, but delivered only “blue sky.” In the next few years, other states passed similar laws and today, all states’ securities laws are referred to as “blue sky laws”. Following the great stock market crash of 1929, the federal government began to regulate investment activity with the passage of the Securities Act of 1933, and the creation of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission in 1934.

Insurance and securities have changed over the years but the responsibility of the Kansas Insurance Department to the people of Kansas remains unchanged.

The mission of The Kansas Insurance Department is to Regulate.Educate.Advocate.


Review companies that sell policies in Kansas to ensure solvency and compliance with insurance and securities laws and regulations.


Consumers about all things insurance and securities by publishing brochures and rate guides to assist in the shopping process, giving presentations to groups across Kansas and serving as a non-biased source of information.


For a strong and competitive market to give Kansans choices when shopping for products that meet their needs.

Vicki Schmidt is a lifelong Kansan. She was born and raised in Wichita. She and her high school sweetheart, Mike, both attended Wichita South High School. Their families lived two blocks from each other and they shared similar upbringings focused on hard work, honesty and faith. They headed off to KU to continue their education together and then married in 1974. Vicki graduated from KU’s School of Pharmacy and went to work as a pharmacist, while Mike attended medical school to become an orthopedic surgeon. They made their home in Topeka, where they raised their two sons, Jonathan and Tyler.

She has worked for more than 40 years, serving Kansas families and seniors as a local pharmacist. It was her pharmacy experience and her commitment to bettering Kansas that drew her to run for the Legislature. As a pharmacist, Vicki found errors in the Kansas Medical Assistance Program, errors that were costing the state millions of dollars. She became a voice for reform – speaking up about ways Medicaid could be more cost-effective in its drug rebate program and implementing her plan, which resulted in more than $391 million in recouped dollars for the state.

Vicki brought her expertise to the Legislature, where she served 14 years representing Shawnee and Wabaunsee counties, including six as the Chair of the Senate Public Health and Welfare Committee. As a State Senator, she fought to protect Medicare for Kansas seniors and voted to ensure Kansas families could count on insurance companies to cover the critical treatments needed for children diagnosed with autism. She consistently stands up to career politicians and lobbyists to fight for what is right for Kansans. She received her most important title in 2014 when she became a Grandma. She and Mike now have three grandsons and one granddaughter.

On November 6, 2018, she was elected Kansas Insurance Commissioner, and was reelected on November 8, 2022—during both elections she received the largest vote total statewide. She became the first pharmacist to serve as Kansas Insurance Commissioner and is the only pharmacist in America currently holding elected statewide office.

Currently, Commissioner Schmidt serves as the secretary of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Midwest Zone and co-vice chair of the Financial Regulation Standards and Accreditation (F) Committee of the NAIC. She also serves as a member on the Life Insurance and Annuities (A) Committee and the International Insurance Relations (G) Committee of the NAIC, and the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) Board of Directors.

To contact the Kansas Insurance Department staff members, please email

Vicki Schmidt – Insurance Commissioner

Dan Klucas – Securities Commissioner

Barbara Rankin – Assistant Commissioner

Mandy Roe – Chief of Staff

Bobbi Mariani – Director of Administrative Operations and Human Resources

John Eichkorn – Director of Compliance, Enforcement and Anti-Fraud

Justin McFarland – General Counsel

Tish Becker – Director of Financial Surveillance

Eric Turek – Director of Government and Public Affairs

Julie Holmes – Director of Rate and Form Compliance

LeAnn Crow – Director of Consumer Assistance

Linda Scott – Director of Information Technology

Charlotte Daubert – Comptroller

Monicka Richmeier – Director of Producer Licensing

Nicole Boyd – Chief of Actuarial Services

John Hesse – Chief of Securities Compliance

Karen Perez – Assistant to the Commissioner


Address : 1300 SW Arrowhead Road, Topeka, KS 66604 – 4073
Telephone : 785-296-3071
Fax : 785-296-5806
Email :
Securities Email :

Producer Licensing Division

Mail to: ATTN Producer Licensing Division
Telephone : 785-296-7862
Email :

Consumer Assistance Division

File a consumer complaint or make a consumer inquiry
Consumer Assistance Hotline : 800-432-2484 (in Kansas only)
Telephone : 785-296-7829 (out-of-state caller)
Fax : 785-296-5806 TTY/TTD: 877-235-3151
Email :



Current career opportunities at the Kansas Insurance Department.

Documents & Services

Online Forms

Online Services