Agency Licensing

Resident Licensing

Resident Agency Licensing Requirements

Kansas-domiciled corporations, associations, partnerships, sole proprietorships, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships, or other legal entities acting as insurance agents and holding a direct agency appointment from an insurance company or companies are required to obtain a resident insurance agency license.

  • Submit the NAIC Uniform Application for Business Entity Insurance License/Registration to the Producer Licensing Division; 1300 SW Arrowhead Road, Topeka, KS 66604-4073. All insurance personnel licensed in Kansas must be listed on the application. Also, report all branch office locations and if the business entity is an auto dealership, an auto rental agency, a financial institution, a portable electronics vendor, or does credit product business only and has no licensed personnel.
  • Submit a $30 application fee (personal or business check, money order, or cashier’s check payable to the Kansas Insurance Department).

When the license has been issued:

  • Notify each insurer with which the agency contracts to request a company appointment. The appointment of the agency will automatically include each licensed insurance agent associated with the agency for the kinds of insurance permitted under the license in effect for the agent. Agent appointments obtained through agency affiliation will terminate if the individual’s association with the agency ends. If an agency appointment is canceled, the appointment for each affiliated agent will terminate as well.
  • No renewal fees are required for the continuation of a resident insurance agency license.

Change of Agency Status

Changes to the information contained in the original application for an insurance agency license should be provided on Form AG11, Change of Agency Status (pdf). Use this form to report termination of agency contracts with insurance companies; change of agency address; change of owners, officers, directors, partners, or the licensed producer designated to be responsible for the agency’s compliance with the insurance laws, rules, and regulations of this state; and changes of licensed agency personnel.

Information regarding producer additions and terminations must be reported within thirty (30) working days. Failure to do so subjects the agency to a penalty of $10 per day for each working day the required information is late subject to a maximum of $50 per person per licensing year.

For changes involving ownership, agency name, or agency tax identification number, contact the Kansas Insurance Department for instructions.

Renewal

No renewal fees are required for the continuation of a resident insurance agency license.

Non-Resident Licensing

Non-Resident Agency Licensing Requirements

 New License

Corporations, associations, partnerships, sole proprietorships, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships, or other legal entities acting as insurance agents and holding a direct agency appointment from an insurance company or companies are required to obtain an insurance agency license. Entities domiciled outside of Kansas:

  • Submit the NAIC Uniform Application for Business Entity License/Registration in two ways. Online or print out and mail to the Producer Licensing Division; 1300 SW Arrowhead Road, Topeka, KS 66604-4073. All insurance personnel licensed in Kansas must be listed on the application. Also, report all branch office locations, and if the business entity is an auto dealership, an auto rental agency, a financial institution, a portable electronics vendor, or does credit product business only and has no licensed personnel.
  • Submit a $30 application fee and a $50 license fee (personal or business check, money order, or cashier’s check payable to the Kansas Insurance Department).
  • License status in the business entity’s state of domicile will be verified through PDB (PDB Participating State Report at nipr.com). If the home state does not issue a business entity insurance license, submit a Letter of Good Standing dated within the calendar year issued by the Secretary of State or similar state agency.

When the license has been issued:

  • Notify each insurer with which the agency contracts to request a company appointment. The appointment of the agency will automatically include each licensed insurance agent associated with the agency for the kinds of insurance permitted under the license in effect for the agent. Agent appointments obtained through agency affiliation will terminate if the individual’s association with the agency ends. If an agency appointment is canceled, the appointment for each affiliated agent will terminate as well.

Change of Agency Status

Changes to the information contained in the original application for an insurance agency license should be provided on Form AG11, Change of Agency Status (pdf). Use this form to report termination of agency contracts with insurance companies; change of agency address; change of owners, officers, directors, partners, or the licensed producer designated to be responsible for the agency’s compliance with the insurance laws, rules, and regulations of this state; and changes of licensed agency personnel.

Information regarding producer additions and terminations must be reported within thirty (30) working days. Failure to do so subjects the agency to a penalty of $10 per day for each working day the required information is late subject to a maximum of $50 per person per licensing year.

For changes involving ownership, agency name, or agency tax identification number, contact the Kansas Insurance Department for instructions.

License Renewal

A non-resident insurance agency may renew the license biennially with a $50 license fee. The renewal date will be two years from the agency’s licensure and each two-year period thereafter. A renewal notice will be mailed approximately 90 days in advance of the renewal date.