Public Adjusters

NOTE: The public adjuster can only be involved in a first-party claim and the claim must be associated with a commercial lines policy.

Resident Public Adjuster Licensing Application & Requirements

To apply for a Kansas resident public adjuster license, you must satisfy or meet the following requirements:

  1. Be at least 18 years of age.
  2. Apply for a tax clearance from the Kansas Department of Revenue and submit it to the Department when you submit your license application. The tax clearance MUST be electronically sent to the Kansas Insurance Department at: KID.Licensing@ks.gov with “Tax Clearance” in the Subject of the email. For additional information on tax clearances, click here. Your application will not be processed until a tax clearance has been received by the Department. Please note: A tax clearance is valid for the period stated on the certificate of clearance.
  3. Submit the NAIC Uniform Application for Individual Adjuster through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) at nipr.com.
  4. At the time you apply, you must pay an application fee of $100 and fingerprinting fee of $60. Both fees are nonrefundable.
  5. Be fingerprinted and submit to a criminal history background check.
  6. Electronically submit a Waiver agreement and FBI Privacy Act Statement (Fingerprint Waiver Form) to the Department.
  7. You must have passed the Kansas Public Adjusters Examination. (Licensing test scores are valid for two years from the date of examination.)
  8. Comply with all licensing requirements within one year of the date of your application. Applications and fingerprints are valid for one year.

Examination Procedures

Kansas insurance licensing examinations are developed and administered by Pearson Vue.

  • Candidate Handbook and Content Outline – The Candidate Handbook and content outlines are available online from the Pearson Vue website. NOTE: For the Kansas Public Adjuster Examination, study should focus on Laws & Regulations & Commercial sections of the Property/Casualty study material.
  • Exam Fees – Major line combination exams cost $64 and Limited Line/Single exams cost $57.
  • Exam Registration and Scheduling – To register or schedule an examination, candidates should:
    • Online Exam Registrations – access the Pearson Vue website 24 hours a day
    • Contact Pearson Vue staff – call 888-204-6255
  • Exam Administrations – Examinations are given at many locations in Kansas and surrounding states and are also available online. Select the “Find a Test Center” link on the Pearson Vue website to find a convenient testing location. For information about OnVue online proctored exams visit home.pearsonvue.com.
  • Review Kansas Insurance Regulations and Statutes on our Legal Issues page. Specifically, K.S.A. 40-5501 et. seq., governs the activities of public adjusters.

Examination Study Materials

Kansas does not have a pre-licensing education requirement. This means that you can take the licensing examination without purchasing exam preparation study materials or participating in an in-person or online exam study course.

For applicants who are interested in purchasing Insurance examination preparation study materials and/or enrolling in in-person or online courses, organizations that offer examination prep courses may be found online. Neither the Kansas Insurance Department nor Pearson Vue specifically endorses any particular study material or school.

License Renewal and Continuing Education (Resident)

Each resident public adjuster may renew the license biennially. The biennial due date is the last day of the public adjuster’s birth month, in an even- or odd-numbered year, depending on whether you were born in an even- or odd-numbered year. For newly licensed adjusters, such due date shall not be earlier than two years from the date of the initial licensure.

Requirements for license renewal:

  • Complete 18 hours of approved continuing education credit every two years, with at least three hours of instruction in insurance ethics.
  • Submit a renewal application and pay a $100 biennial renewal fee through nipr.com at the time of their biennial renewal.
  • CE providers must submit CE completion information electronically to State Based Systems (SBS). The Department will not accept any completion certificates (whether in paper or electronic form) from licensees or CE completion information from CE providers after January 1, 2022.

Nonresident Public Adjuster Licensing Application & Requirements

To apply for a Kansas nonresident public adjuster license, you must satisfy or meet the following requirements:

  1. Be at least 18 years old.
  2. Submit the NAIC Uniform Application for Individual Adjuster Online via the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Applications submitted on a paper form will NOT be accepted.
  3. Payment of $100.00 Application fee (collected when application submitted to NIPR). Application fees are nonrefundable.
  4. Hold a public adjuster license in your designated home state.
  5. A Certification Letter from the public adjuster’s home state is not required. The license status will be verified through the NAIC’s Producer Data Base (PDB).

License Renewal (Non-Resident)

  • Each non-resident public adjuster may renew the license biennially. The biennial due date is the last day of the public adjuster’s birth month, in an even- or odd-numbered year, depending on whether you were born in an even- or odd-numbered year. For newly licensed adjusters, such due date shall not be earlier than two years from the date of the initial licensure.
  • Submit a renewal application and pay a $100 biennial renewal fee through nipr.com at the time of their biennial renewal.
  • Proof of continuing education compliance and home state license status will be verified through the NAIC Producer Data Base (PDB Participating State Report at nipr.com).

Maintaining Your Public Adjuster License (Resident and Non-Resident)

  • Resident public adjusters must satisfy the continuing education requirements in Kansas.
  • You must keep a current email address on file.
  • You shall remain in compliance with K.A.R. 40-7-27 by reporting home and mailing address changes, name changes, regulatory actions, and criminal charges, within 30 days of occurrence. Address changes, including home, mailing and email, are to be reported through nipr.com. Name changes should be submitted by electronically submitting this name change form to the Department. Regulatory actions and criminal charges should be reported to the Department at KID.Licensing@ks.gov.