Producer Licensing

 

Resident Licensing

Resident Producer Licensing Application & Requirements

New License (Resident)

In order to qualify as a Kansas resident insurance producer, you must satisfy the following requirements:

  • Provide a clearance letter from your former state of residence if you hold a license from another state and are moving to Kansas. A clearance letter is not required if the applicant’s former state of residence participates in the NAIC’s Producer Data Base (PDB).
  • Provide evidence of FINRA registration if Variable Contracts authority is required. (Series 6 or 7).
  • Pass the appropriate licensing examination.

License Application Status (Resident)

Click the link below to check license application status.

License Renewal (Resident)

Each resident producer may renew the license biennially. Effective July 1, 2021, the biennial due date is the last day of the producer’s birth month in each odd year for producers born in an odd-numbered year or each even year for producers born in an even-numbered year. For newly licensed producers, such date shall not be earlier than two years from the date of the producer’s initial licensure.
Resident producers must submit proof of continuing education by their biennial due date.  Beginning January 1, 2022 resident producers must also submit a renewal form and pay a $4.00 biennial renewal fee through NIPR (nipr.com) at the time of their biennial renewal.

Maintaining Your New License (Resident)

Requirements for maintaining your resident insurance producer license in Kansas:

  • Secure company certification. An appointment is required by each company for which you transact business.
  • You must keep a current email address on file with the Kansas Insurance Department.
  • You must satisfy continuing education requirements.
  • You shall remain in compliance with K.S.A. 40-4905 by reporting home and mailing address changes, name changes, email address changes, regulatory actions, terminations for cause, actions taken against a license in another state and new convictions, within 30 days of the occurrence, to the Commissioner of Insurance.
  • If you will be selling flood insurance, please see the Flood Insurance Training Requirement.
  • If you will be selling policies under the Long Term Care Partnership Program, please see the Long Term Care Training Requirement.
  • If you will be selling or recommending annuities, see the Annuity Suitability Training Requirement.

Types of Licenses (Resident)

The Kansas Insurance Department grants the following types of licenses. Choose the examinations that will qualify you for the licenses you desire.

Licenses Requiring an Examination

  • Life *
  • Accident and Health *
  • Property and Allied Lines *
  • Casualty and Allied Lines *
  • Personal Lines
  • Crop Only
  • Title Only
  • Bail Bond Only **

Licenses NOT Requiring an Examination

  • Variable Contracts ***
  • Travel
  • Viatical Settlement ****
  • Reinsurance Intermediary ****
  • Excess Lines*****
  • Self-Service Storage

* May be taken as individual examinations or in combined examinations of Life, Accident and Health, or Property, Casualty and Allied Lines.
** Bail bond agents are required to pass the Kansas Laws and Regulations examination only.
*** Variable contracts agents must have FINRA registration and a life agent license, but no separate exam is required.
**** Contact the Kansas Insurance Department for instructions and application forms.
***** Must hold a property casualty license.

Producer Examinations (Resident)

Examination Procedures 

  • Candidate Handbook – The Candidate Handbook is available online from the Pearson Vue website.
  • Content Outline – The examination content outlines are available online from the Pearson Vue website.
  • Exam Fees – Major line combination exams cost $64 and Limited Line/Single exams cost $57.
  • Exam Registration and Scheduling – To register or schedule an examination, candidates should:
    • Online Exam Registrations – access the Pearson Vue website 24 hours a day
    • Contact Pearson Vue staff – call 888-204-6255
  • Exam Administrations – Examinations will be given in the following locations:
    • Overland Park, KS
    • Wichita, KS
    • Topeka, KS
    • Hays, KS
  • Online Proctored Exams are also available. For more information about OnVUE, visit home.pearsonvue.com
  • Review All Insurance Regulations and Kansas Statutes on our Legal Issues page

Additional locations throughout the country are also available as described on the Pearson Vue website. Normal Pearson Vue policies and procedures including exam cancellation and rescheduling timelines will apply. Please consult the Pearson Vue website for the official Candidate Handbook and the most up-to-date information about this program implementation.

Examination Study Materials/Schools (Resident)

The Examination Content Outlines are the basis for the examinations. Not all questions on the examinations will necessarily be covered in the study materials/courses. The content outlines are updated periodically and may not be consistent with outdated information found in the study materials/courses. Where such discrepancies exist, the outlines take precedence.
NOTE: Kansas does not have a pre-licensing education requirement. Neither the Kansas Insurance Department nor Pearson Vue specifically endorses any particular study material or school.
Study materials/courses for Life, Accident and Health, Property and Allied Lines, and Casualty and Allied Lines may be purchased from the following organizations:

Study material for Title insurance may be purchased from the following organization:

Possible Reimbursement for Veterans

Qualifying veterans may be eligible for reimbursement of the cost of the exam from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. The reimbursement form (VA form 22-0803) and additional information about Licensing and Certification Testing can be found on the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs website. Please list the following facility code on the reimbursement form: the exam name. Please follow the instructions on the form on how to file your claim. If you have questions or need assistance with the form, call the VA toll-free at 1-888-442-4551.

License Surrender (Resident)

To surrender a resident insurance license, the producer should submit a written request, providing name and national producer number (NPN).

For the license to be surrendered in good standing, the producer must have completed continuing education requirements for the biennium in which the license is surrendered. If the continuing education requirement has not been satisfied, the license will be deemed to have expired for noncompliance on the biennial due date. In such case, if the individual reapplies for a license, proof of continuing education completion and reinstatement fees will be required in addition to any required application forms and/or fees.

Non-Resident Licensing

Non-Resident Producer Licensing Application & Requirements

New License (Non-Resident)

In order to qualify as a Kansas non-resident insurance producer, you must satisfy the following requirements:

  • Provide evidence of FINRA registration if Variable Contracts authority is desired.
  • A Certification Letter from the producer’s home state is not required. The license status will be verified through the NAIC’s Producer Data Base (PDB).
  • Application forms and fees may be waived for an individual holding a valid resident or non-resident license in this state whose new license is required by a change of domicile. Contact the Kansas Insurance Department for details.

License Renewal (Non-Resident)

Each non-resident producer may renew the license biennially. The biennial due date is the last day of the producer’s birth month in each odd year for producers born in an odd-numbered year or each even year for producers born in an even-numbered year. For newly licensed producers, such date shall not be earlier than two years from the date of the producer’s initial licensure.
Non-resident producers must pay a $50 biennial license fee by the renewal due date. A Certification Letter from the producer’s home state is not required. License status will be verified through the NAIC Producer Data Base as proof of continuing education compliance (PDB Participating State Report at nipr.com).

Maintaining Your New License (Non-Resident)

Requirements for maintaining your non-resident insurance producer license in Kansas:

  • You must maintain a resident license in your home state for the same lines of authority that you are qualified for in Kansas.
  • Secure company certification. Appointment is required by each company for which business is transacted.
  • You shall remain in compliance with K.S.A. 40-4905 by reporting home and mailing address changes, name changes, email address changes, regulatory actions, terminations for cause, actions taken against a license in another state and new convictions, within 30 days of the occurrence, to the Commissioner of Insurance.
  • Renew license by the biennial due date with the $50 renewal fee. The biennial due date is the last day of the producer’s birth month in each odd year for producers born in an odd-numbered year or each even year for producers born in an even-numbered year. For newly licensed producers, such due date shall not be earlier than two years from the date of the producer’s initial licensure.

Types of Licenses (Non-Resident)

A non-resident license is issued based upon the applicant’s license authority in the state of residence. The Kansas Insurance Department grants the following types of licenses:

  • Life
  • Accident and Health
  • Variable Contracts
  • Property and Allied Lines
  • Casualty and Allied Lines
  • Personal Lines
  • Crop Only
  • Title Only
  • Bail Bond Only
  • Travel
  • Viatical Settlement *
  • Reinsurance Intermediary *
  • Excess Lines **
  • Self-Service Storage

* Contact the Kansas Insurance Department for instructions and application forms

** See Excess Lines Application

License Surrender (Non-Resident)

To surrender a non-resident insurance license, the producer should submit a written request, providing name and national producer number (NPN).

For the license to be surrendered in good standing, the request must be made prior to the license renewal date, and it must be determined that the producer is in compliance with continuing education requirements for the biennium in which the license is surrendered. If the license is not surrendered in good standing, it will be deemed to have expired for noncompliance on the biennial due date. In such case, if the individual reapplies for a license, proof of continuing education completion and reinstatement fees will be required in addition to any required application forms and/or fees.