Continuing Education

Continuing Education

Producer

Provider

Provider Forms

Contact Information

  • Kansas Insurance Department – Producer Licensing Division: (785) 296-7862 or email kid.conted@ks.gov
  • SBS NAIC Help Desk: (816) 783-8500 or email help@naic.org

Producer Requirements

Once a producer receives a license, that producer must satisfy continuing education requirements. These biennial requirements for a resident producer are:

Authority Hours Course Type
Life and/or Health* 12 Life/Health
Property and/or Casualty* 12 Property/Casualty
Crop Only 2 Crop
Title Only 4 Title
Pre-need Only   Affirm pre-need business only ‡

*Such requirement shall include at least one hour of instruction in insurance ethics. No more than three Continuing Education Credits shall be in insurance agency management.
‡ Kansas law requires that each individual holding a life license solely for the purpose of selling pre-need insurance shall provide affirmation that no other insurance business was transacted during the current renewal period. No continuing education hours are required to renew the limited lines license of pre-need. Affirmation may be provided online via Producer Desktop.
For those producers who were born in an odd-numbered year, the biennial due date is the producer’s date of birth in each odd year. For those producers born in an even-numbered year, the biennial due date is the producer’s date of birth in each even year. Such due date shall not be earlier than two years following the producer’s initial licensure.

Requirements for Compliance

Kansas resident producers must complete courses approved by the Kansas Insurance Department.  Courses must be completed during the biennium to which they are to be applied.   If the CE provider does not submit the producer course information electronically, the producer must submit the KCE-4 or an official grade report from a provider of professional designation courses to the Kansas Insurance Department by the biennial renewal date.  Please call the Producer Licensing Division at (785-296-6755) to verify that a professional designation course has been approved by the Department.
Nonresident producers must renew online or send a $50 biennial license fee by the renewal due date. A Certification Letter from the producer’s home state is not required. License status will be verified through PDB as proof of continuing education compliance.

Licenses Canceled for Noncompliance with CE Requirements

If a Kansas resident or nonresident license is suspended or terminated for failure to submit continuing education/renewal requirements the producer must provide:

  • Resident Producer
    • A reinstatement fee of $100 per continuing education category.
    • Proof that CE hours have been completed. If the CE provider does not submit the producer course information electronically, the producer must submit the KCE-4 or an official grade report from a provider of professional designation courses to the Kansas Insurance Department.
    • Company appointment and/or application forms and fees may be required, dependent upon the length of time that has passed from the producer’s renewal due date.
  • Nonresident Producer
    • A reinstatement fee of $100 per continuing education category.
    • $50 biennial license fee.
    • Certification Letter from the producer’s home state is not required. License status will be verified through PDB as proof of continuing education compliance.
    • Company appointment and/or application forms and fees may be required, dependent upon the length of time that has passed from the producer’s renewal due date.

Course Providers

See Provider/Course Catalog Look-Up.

Flood Insurance Training Requirement

(From Bulletin 2006-6)

IF YOU DO NOT ISSUE FLOOD INSURANCE POLICIES AS AN INSURER OR YOU DO NOT SELL FLOOD INSURANCE TO YOUR CLIENTS AS A PRODUCER, THIS REQUIREMENT DOES NOT APPLY TO YOU.

Federally-backed flood insurance is available through the NFIP, which is administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (“FEMA”). FEMA has implemented the minimum flood insurance training requirements for insurance producers, as set forth in Section 207 of the Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2004, Pub. L. 108-264, (the “Act”). Under the Act, FEMA, in cooperation with state insurance regulators, has developed flood insurance training requirements which are designed to ensure that insurance producers selling flood insurance under NFIP are properly trained and educated about the program.

Under these requirements, all Kansas resident insurance producers licensed in property and casualty or personal lines of authority that may sell a flood insurance policy must complete a one-time course related to NFIP which will provide at least three (3) hours of continuing education credit. These three (3) hours are not required in addition to the normal 12 hours. The NFIP flood insurance course is available through some approved continuing education providers. In the near future, an online course will be available on FEMA’s website. The failure to comply with this continuing education requirement may jeopardize the insurance producer’s authority to write flood insurance through the NFIP.

Pursuant to the Act, the Kansas Insurance Department is requiring all Kansas resident insurance producers who sell flood insurance through NFIP to comply with the minimum training requirements of Section 207 of the Act, and with basic flood education, as outlined in 70 FR 52117, or such later requirements as are published by FEMA. This will take effect beginning with the resident license renewals January 1, 2007, and run through an agent’s renewal cycle. If an agent has taken the NFIP course this 2005 year and submitted it for their renewal, we will count it as having satisfied the federal requirement.

Flood Course Providers

The following providers* offer classroom, self-study, or internet flood courses. All self-study/internet courses require a final exam monitored by an independent third party. Contact the provider for enrollment information.
To obtain information regarding other providers, email kid.conted@ks.gov or call 785-296-6755.
* Course providers are subject to change.

Provider Telephone
A. D. Banker (classroom/self-study) 800-255-0408 or
913-451-1280
CEU.com (internet) 800-295-9010
CPMI Professional Development, Inc. (self-study) 815-271-8200
FEMA – National Flood Insurance Program (internet) 512-529-1206
Fidelity National Property & Casualty Insurance Company (classroom) 866-373-5663
Insurance Career Training, Inc. (classroom/internet) 317-863-0044
Insurance Study.Com (internet) 866-339-3900
National Alliance (classroom/internet) 512-345-7932
Norris Training Systems (classroom/internet) 800-828-7181 or
316-685-5621
Reged. Inc (internet) 800-334-8322
Sandi Kruise Insurance Training (self-study) 800-517-7500
United Insurance Educators (internet) 800-735-1155
WebCE.com (internet) 800-488-9308 or
972-616-1100

Long-Term Care Training Requirement

The Long Term Care Partnership (LTCi) has been available to the market for health insurance producers since 2007. We released Bulletin 2007-7 to make producers aware of the availability of this product. This is a thorough explanation of the LTCi program. At that time, any producers with health authority on their insurance licenses could sell this type of policy.
In 2009, regulation K.A.R. 40-4-37v was adopted to formally implement a training requirement for any producer that would be marketing LTCi products. The satisfaction of this training requirement for current producers has a deadline of July 1, 2010. After that, subsequent producers should use their license renewal date as the training requirement date.
Should you have any further questions regarding the training requirement, please call the Producer Licensing Division at 785-296-7859 for clarification.

Annuity Suitability Training Requirement

Effective June 1, 2013, Kansas Administrative Regulation 40-2-14a will be amended to augment the standards and procedures for annuity recommendations and sales.  The changes affect three specific areas:

  1. Establishes a regulatory framework requiring insurance companies supervise annuity recommendations in order to be sure consumers’ financial goals and objectives are being appropriately addressed and holds insurance companies responsible for supervising and monitoring the marketing and sale of annuities;
  2. Requires any producer who engages in the sale of annuities to complete a four (4) hour annuity suitability training course.  The satisfaction of this training requirement for current producers has a deadline of November 30, 2013.  Individuals who obtain a life insurance line of authority on or after June 1, 2013, may not engage in the sale of annuities until the annuity suitability training course has been completed.  Producers are also required to complete on an ongoing basis company-sponsored product-specific training sponsored by the insurance company offering the product.
  3. Creates consistency where it is practical with the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) suitability standards.

Provider Course Application and Approval Guidelines

General Requirements

Only courses that impart substantive and procedural knowledge relating to insurance and are beneficial to the insuring public subsequent to initial licensing shall be approved for credit. Approved courses shall be classified as life/health, property/casualty, general, crop only, title only, agency management, or ethics courses. Credit earned from general courses is acceptable in meeting the requirements for the life/health or property/casualty classification. Courses of the following types do not meet the basic criteria for approvable courses described above:

  • Courses designed to prepare students for a license examination.
  • Courses in mechanical office or business skills, including typing, speed reading, or use of calculators or other machines or equipment.
  • Courses in sales promotion, including meetings held in conjunction with the general business of the licensee, time management, and motivational subjects.
  • Courses which are primarily intended to impart knowledge of specific products of specific companies if the courses relate to the sales promotion or marketing of one or more of the products discussed.

The number of approved hours will not include time spent on introductions, breaks, or other activities not directly related to approved educational information or material.
Course examinations will not be required for approval of continuing education courses except self-study/internet courses.

Provider Course Submission

Providers shall submit proposed courses to the commissioner for pre-approval at least 30 days prior to the date on which the course is to be held.  Electronic submission of courses is mandatory.   To submit courses log in to SBS Login and click on “Submit Course Application.”  Attach backup documentation to the electronic course application by clicking on “Upload Attachment.” After courses have been approved, providers shall notify the commissioner at least 30 days prior to any subsequent course dates for only those courses held within the state of Kansas.   Notification is not required for courses held outside of Kansas.
Courses cannot be advertised in any manner as approved unless the commissioner has granted approval, in writing.

Provider Fees

All fees required for individual course approval shall be collected with the course submission. If the provider has chosen to pay the $250 annual fee for unlimited courses, no course fee will be required with the electronic submission, unless it is the first time the provider is filing courses.  If the provider has chosen to pay the $50 per course fee, the fee will be collected by credit card at the time of course submission.
The fees are $50 per course per year or a $250 annual fee. The provider is eligible for the $250 annual fee only if that payment method has been chosen on the provider page.  It must be paid upfront with the first-course submission.   The $100 annual provider fee is due with the first-course submission each year.  Credit card fees will be generated according to the payment method that has been selected by the provider.

Facilities

Each course of study shall be conducted in a classroom or other facility that is adequate to comfortably accommodate the faculty and the number of students enrolled. The provider may limit the number of students enrolled in a course.

Self-Study/Internet Courses

The amount of credit received by a producer for a self-study/internet course shall be based upon successful completion of the course and an independently monitored examination subject to the number of hours assigned by the commissioner.
Examination monitors shall not be affiliated in any way with the sponsoring organization or the licensee and shall be subject to approval by the commissioner. Any examination utilized or to be utilized shall be included in the material submitted for course approval. No examination will be approved unless the commissioner is satisfied that security procedures protecting the integrity of the examination can be maintained. If security is compromised, no credit will be granted.
Any sponsor of self-study/internet courses shall clearly disclose to any producer wishing to receive credit in Kansas the number of hours for which that particular course has been approved by the commissioner.

Provider Course Requirements

Each course of study shall have a coordinator who is responsible for supervising the course and assuring compliance with the statutes and regulations governing the offering of insurance continuing education courses.

Providing organizations shall maintain accurate records relating to course offerings, instructors, and student attendance. If the coordinator leaves the employ of the sponsor or otherwise ceases to monitor continuing education offerings, the records shall be transferred to the replacement coordinator or an officer of the provider. If a provider ceases operations, the coordinator shall be responsible for maintaining the records or providing a custodian of the records acceptable to the commissioner. In order to be acceptable, custodians shall agree to make copies of student records available to students free of charge or at a reasonable fee. Under no circumstances will the commissioner act as custodian of the records.

Course Instructors

Instructors shall possess one of the following qualifications:

  • Three years of recent experience in the subject area being taught; or
  • a college degree related to the subject area being taught; or
  • two years of recent experience in the subject area being taught and 60 classroom hours of acceptable course work in the subject area being taught; or
  • an appropriate professional designation in the area being taught.

Instructors shall comply with all laws and rules pertaining to insurance continuing education, provide students with current and accurate information, maintain an atmosphere conducive to learning in a classroom, and provide assistance to the students and respond to questions relating to course material.

Notification To Commissioner

Providers, coordinators, and instructors shall notify the commissioner within 10 days after the occurrence of a felony or misdemeanor conviction or disciplinary action was taken against an insurance or other occupational license held by the coordinator or instructor and any change of information contained in an application for course approval.

Housekeeping Details

Prior to any class, course administrators and instructors should advise participants that:

  • Attendance for the entire class is necessary to obtain credit. There is no partial credit.
  • Attendees should not engage in other activities during the class; e.g., there should be no reading newspapers, doing other work, opening mail, etc. (If the course administrator or instructor cannot enforce this, the provider should not have these individuals in charge, or the provider should not file for continuing education credit.)
  • The Course Certificate, KCE-4 (pdf), is for the purpose of providing evidence of program completion to the Kansas resident insurance producer and must be provided to the producer within 30 days of the course date.  If the provider does not submit course completion information electronically to SBS, the producer must submit the KCE-4 to the Kansas Insurance Department by the biennial due date.  A provider may require payment of the course tuition as a condition for receiving the course completion certificate.
  • There should be no abuse of break time. (If it is 10 minutes, do not make it 15 minutes.)

Provider Continuing Education Forms

The forms listed below are used in administering Kansas continuing education requirements for producers. Please carefully review these forms, the administrative guidelines, and K.S.A. 40-4902 and K.S.A. 40-4903.
All forms are in DOC format unless otherwise indicated.

Form KCE-4 is for the purpose of providing evidence of program completion to the insurance producer. If the CE provider does not submit the producer information electronically, the producer must submit the KCE-4 to the Kansas Insurance Department by the biennial due date.
NAIC Uniform Continuing Education Reciprocity Course Filing Form and Instructions, if applicable, is to be used by the home state CE provider when filing a new course in a reciprocal state.  A copy of the home state approval form must be attached.
Questions regarding the Kansas continuing education requirement may be directed to the Producer Licensing Division, 785-296-6755 or by email to kid.conted@ks.gov.